Live Dynamic Map - Pro's and Cons

Discussion in 'Main (Survival)' started by WhiskeyCoffee, Dec 6, 2013.

1. WhiskeyCoffee

WhiskeyCoffee Chain Saw Pick Powered

Well we're on the verge of a new world. The flames are dieing and the Phoenix is about to rise once again.

What are people thoughts about having a live map. You know the sort I mean? It's basically an isometric (kinda 3d view) of the surface of the world from above.

To quote Masters, it like a Satellite view of the land from high up.

Any surface building will be plain to see. You will be able to see the layouts of towns and their walls. You can judge distances, say from Spawn to Draco's under built sheds ( ;) )

Some say the trouble with this is it gives PvP'ers an advantage. Allowing them to home in on targets efficiently and gives them an idea of potential weaknesses. That is true.

I think this adds to the excitement of playing Minecraft on a Survival PvP server.

Myself... I'm a builder, through and through. I have to gather resources in fear of being killed and my inventory looted. I have to design my builds securely so as not to allow raiders easy access to my stuff.

If I simply wanted to build stuff, stand back and say to evryone, 'Hey look, isn't this cool?' I would join a purely creative server.

In survival, where you mine (earn) your building blocks, at risk form being attacked, you end up with a much more greater sense of accomplishment.

What are YOUR thoughts?

I haven't made this into a poll (yet) I would much rather people give there point of views on the subject. Debate the idea, then if Cass agrees we can have a poll on it later.
  2. zference

zference Bettercraft OG